The Power of Sound to Heal

An Interview with Sound Healer, Debbie Cutler:

We are so excited to bring you an amazing new class from Debbie Cutler, The Healing Power of Sound on May 15th from 12:00 – 2:00 p.m. In order to give you a taste of all that Debbie and her new class has to offer, we set up a short interview to post here. Enjoy!

1. What is sound healing?

It is the ability of sound to repair aspects of our selves that are out of alignment, as well as to restore the individual to spiritual wholeness. It is the power to rearrange molecules in our bodies. This means that sound not only enters our ears and brains allowing us the ability to hear, but also has the ability to go into our cellular structure and restore what’s out of balance.

2. How did you come to learn about sound healing?

At a very young age I discovered that my sense of hearing was stronger than my other four senses. People around me had to be very careful because I was able to figure out PINs at ATM machines or codes over the phones just by hearing what they typed. I always knew that music had a very powerful energy which affected me. It helped me in many different ways.

3. When did you decide to teach sound healing?

My excitement to share my personal journey and what I have discovered and still am discovering started the day I had an out of body experience that was induced by sound and vibration happening at the same time. WOW! It was by far the most amazing experience I have ever had or encountered. It brought me peace and the closure I needed after losing my father.

If I was able to recover from the anger, frustration and sadness that I was carrying for years after my father died, I knew I had to push myself to share this with others and be of help and service.

4. What’s an early experience you had with sound that opened you to this understanding of its healing ability?

Besides the previous experience, simply by a natural instinct. When my daughter was an infant, I unfortunately couldn’t nurse her and she was very colicky due to the excess of iron in the formula.

One evening she cried for almost 2 hours and I didn’t know what to do. Finally, I decided to bring her to my bed, I put my hands on her tummy and started humming and singing to her. It took less than 5 minutes to calm her down and she even fell asleep.

I thought to myself, why didn’t I try this an hour earlier?

5. What do you think people misunderstand most about sound?

The fact that music is sound but not all sounds are music is what I believe to be the answer to this question. There are universal sounds that can be played and applied for healing purposes, but that doesn’t mean they’ll do the trick. The key is to find exactly what resonates with each individual, and yes, sometimes it can take a while, but once you get there, amazing things do happen. 

6. Is sound healing something you can combine with other healing arts like Reiki or massage? 

Absolutely. Interestingly, when you go to a spa to have a massage, we already take for granted that those places are playing relaxing music. Why is that? Therefore, you’re getting a massage that is already being combined with sound!

As Alfred Tomatis, M.D. said: “Sound is a sonic nutrient. It feeds and nourishes the body, mind and spirit, alone or in combination with other therapies”.

As a side note, it is important to understand that not everyone will always be healed by sound or any other modality. I personally believe in acupuncture, but I have never experienced any healing from it, and I have tried it many, many times.

Everybody is different, and there are some people who like and do need to have two or more different therapies in the energy-healing spectrum to actually heal.

 

debbie_cutler_largeDebbie Cutler, founder of Blooming Souls Wellness, LLC is a Spiritual Holistic Coach, Reiki and Sound Healing Practitioner. She is originally from Mexico City, and has been living in Houston for the past 17 years. In 2003, after the loss of her father and the birth of her daughter a few months apart, Debbie had to learn how to live and deal with different emotions at the same time that caused her to be sick for few years. During this time, Debbie learned the importance of a new way of living that not only reestablished her health, but brought her the alignment of body, mind and soul that is required to grow our consciousness.

You can learn more about Debbie at her website: www.bloomingsoulswellness.com

Leave a Reply

